Important Information About New Jersey State Inspections


In all states, vehicles are required to undergo an inspection in order to ensure that they meet emission standards. These standards are put forth by each state's Department of Motor Vehicles.

Each state has different requirements to pass inspection, and each state requires inspections at different times. If you have recently moved to the state of New Jersey, here's so information regarding state vehicle inspections that are important for you to know:

New Jersey is a Low Emission State

The state of New Jersey passed has a Low Emission Vehicle Program in place. This program was set forth by the state's Department of Environmental Protection, and the purpose is to improve the air quality in the state.

An emissions test is mandatory every two years, and if your vehicle fails this emissions test, you are required to have it repaired, and once repaired it must be re-tested and meet the standards in order to pass inspection.

When to Have Your Vehicle Inspected

Your vehicle will have to be registered within a 60 day period after you have moved to the state, or once the registration from your previous state of residence expires.

Once your vehicle is registered in New Jersey, you have 14 days to have an inspection done. And, once your car is inspected, it will have to be re-inspected biennially in order to ensure that it is safe to drive.

Inspection Requirements Set Forth by the State of New Jersey

As previously mentioned, each state sets forth different requirements for passing inspection, and in the New Jersey, these requirements are as follows:

  • Vehicles that are more than 5 years old and are powered by diesel, gasoline or are bi-fueled must pass an emissions inspection every two years.
  • Vehicles that are intended to serve as passenger, government, commuter or not-for-profit use must pass an emissions inspection.
  • If you intend to use your vehicle for agricultural purposes, it must be inspected for emissions output every 2 years if it weighs less than 8,500 pounds and was made in 1997 or after.

New Jersey Inspection Exemptions

Not all vehicles have to meet the aforementioned inspection requirements. The state of New Jersey has determined certain exemptions, and these exemptions are determined by a vehicle's age, the intention for use, and the manner in which it is powered.

If your vehicle fits into any of the following categories, it will be exempt from biennial emissions inspections:

  • It is a historic vehicle (it is at least 25 years old and it is registered as a historic vehicle).
  • It is a collector vehicle, which means that it is seldom operated and it is owned for the pure intention of being a collectable.
  • It is powered completely by electric.
  • It is diesel powered and it was made in 1996 or earlier and it is operated as a passenger, government, commuter or not-for-profit vehicle. 

In order to legally drive your car in New Jersey, it is important to understand the requirements for having your car inspected. Not have your vehicle properly inspected could lead to major fines and points on your license, which could impact the validity of your license. Avoid trouble by familiarizing yourself with state requirements and have your car properly inspected. 

If you need help with NJ state inspections, try contacting a company to help you out and learn more.


19 February 2015

cutting the cost of auto repairs

When you take your car in to a mechanic for repairs, do you have any idea what the repair you need should cost you? Do you know if the parts being used are OEM parts or aftermarket? Learning these things can help you negotiate a fair price for repairs. On my site, you will also find a few suggestions to help you save money on the parts needed to make the repairs. Sometimes, you can save money on buying salvage parts, but other times, salvage parts could end up costing you more in the long run. Learn more about saving money on auto repairs by visiting my site.